SAMAB: The South African Museums Association Bulletin

SAMAB is an accredited journal approved by the South African Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET) and has been published by SAMA since 1936.

The South African Museums Association Bulletin (SAMAB) provides a forum for the publication of peer reviewed articles that promote the discussion, debate and the dissemination and exchange of information on aspects of museology, with particular but not exclusive reference to South Africa.

 SAMAB also enables the communication of current issues, practices and policies regarding collections management, curatorial discourse, museum administration, research, exhibitions, visitor studies, community engagement, education, conservation and other topics relevant to the museum and wider heritage sector.

SAMAB welcomes all submissions related to the topic of museology, research papers and academically sound opinion pieces about the topic of museums. See below for guidelines on submitting articles.

Paid up individual and institutional members receive free access to SAMAB.

UNISA holds a full set of SAMAB from 1936-present. Click here for full list held in the SAMA Archive at UNISA and a scanned copy of the first edition.

Submit an article

All contributions will be submitted to appropriate referees in a double blind peer review process. The editors’ decision whether or not to accept an article for publication is final and no correspondence will be entered into. Copyright of the articles accepted for publication will vest with SAMAB. It is regretted that no payment is made for contributions.

For more information contact the Editor: Prof Bernadine Benson:

Only papers that adhere strictly to the SAMAB Author Guidelines will be considered:

Editor in Chief – Prof Bernadine Benson, University of South Africa
Sub Editor – Dr Sian Tiley-Nel, University of Pretoria

Mr Alexandros Andreou – Heritage and Art, Nedbank Limited, Johannesburg
Dr Annie Antonites – The Heritage Foundation, Pretoria
Dr Marcus Granato – Museum of Astronomy and Related Sciences, São Paulo, Brazil
Mr Ishmael Mbhokodo – Heritage Resources Management, City of Tshwane
Mr Richard Higgs – Department of Knowledge & Information Stewardship, University of Cape Town
Mr Sipho Mdanda – Freedom Park, Pretoria
Dr Lourenço Pinto – Department of Heritage Studies, Sol Plaatje University, Northern Cape
Dr Barbara Rothermel – Museum Studies, University of Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Dr Noel Solani – Ditsong Museums of South Africa, Pretoria
Ms Stephanie Victor – Amathole Museum, Eastern Cape
Dr Helene Vollgraaff – Department of Cultural Affairs and Sport, Western Cape
Dr Ria van der Merwe – University of Pretoria Archives, Pretoria