Organisational Structure

  • The Council is the governing body of the Association and oversees its operations.
  • The Council consists of the President, Immediate Past President and Vice-President who are elected for two year terms using a succession system.
  • The Chairperson of the Executive Board of ICOM-SA is an ex officio member of the Council.
  • The Council’s term of office is two years and runs from one Annual General Meeting to another.
  • Only individual members of the Association who are in good standing may stand for Council.
  • Each region (Western Cape, Eastern Cape, North, KZN and Free State) has its own Regional Committee elected at its regional AGM by the members in that region. The Chair of each Regional Committee is the regional representative on Council.
  • The Council has sub-committees for various functions. For example, for research, training, marketing etc.
  • All SAMA representatives serve on Council and at regional level in a voluntary capacity.